Ghost in 7A-Part One

How I Became The Ghost of 7A

Human emotion can have the psychic viscosity of motor oil. 

That’s why I am stuck in this apartment for all eternity, or until I enter my next incarnation, if that’s even a possibility. 

Unfortunately, there’s no one here to ask. 

I didn’t think of that.

The new tenants, the ones who moved in after my “unfortunate demise”, clearly cannot be consulted upon matters spiritual.  He’s a computer geek and she’s a sleep-deprived (or as I used to like to say “sleep-depraved”) new mother. 

I know the baby knows I’m here. 

Now I know why I was the way I was. 

My mother used to talk quite often about how, up until I was about two or two-and-a-half years’ old, I wouldn’t let anyone but her and my sister near me. 

If/when anyone else ever tried to approach me, I would scream and cry, and then when I learned how to walk, I added running to the hysterical mix. 

Now I know it was because the ghost at 123 W. Clarkson used to visit me in my crib at night.  He thought I was asleep, and most of the time I was, but I do remember clearly feeling his touch on at least two occasions and laying there, frozen with an infant’s inarticulate, as-yet-“unsocialized”, “unculturized”, fear. 

He was completely harmless, just an ordinary ghost.  Not a suicide.  Liked kids.  Not a pervert or anything.   

One time, my mom came to pick me up out of my crib one hot Philadelphia afternoon, I was about seven months’ old.  I screamed and cried and wouldn’t let her touch me.  She drew back in alarm and confusion and then finally remembered:  she had tied back her blonde, chin-length 50’s Mom-bob with a hair ribbon.  Ribbon gone:  crazy kid happy again. 

 

Leave a comment